Find out who will play who and when

FIH reveals Pools and Match Schedule for Youth Olympic Games 2018

September 7, 2018
  • Two Pools per gender confirmed
  • Gold medal matches to be played on 14 October
  • Event taking place in the Youth Olympic Park, Buenos Aires

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) and the Buenos Aires 2018 Youth Olympic Games organising committee have revealed the Pools and Match Schedule for the hockey events which begin in exactly one month.

To view the full match schedule, click here.

In the women’s competition, Pool A includes Argentina, Austria, India, South Africa, Uruguay and Vanuatu, while Pool B involves Australia, China, Mexico, Namibia, Poland and Zimbabwe.

In the men’s event, Argentina, Malaysia, Mexico, Poland, Vanuatu and Zambia will compete in Pool A, while Pool B will see Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Canada, India and Kenya go head to head.

The Pool stages will take place between Sunday 7 and Thursday 11 October. Classification and Quarter-Final matches will then be held on Friday 12 October, with further classification matches plus the Semi-Finals on Saturday 13 October. 

The 7/8th and 5/6th matches then take place on Sunday 14 October before the medal matches. The men’s bronze is at 13:00 followed by the women’s at 14:00. The finalists will then go head to head for the gold medals at 15:00 (men) and 16:30 (women) – all times local (ART).

Hosts China won the last YOG hockey gold medals, in 2014 Photo: IOC/XINHUA

Many of these teams are participating in their first ever Youth Olympic Games. This includes Argentina, Austria, India, Kenya, Malaysia, Poland and Vanuatu in the men’s event and Australia, Austria, India, Mexico, Namibia, Poland, Vanuatu and Zimbabwe and in the women’s competition.

With nations participating from every continent, this edition of the Youth Olympic Games is set to be hugely entertaining, with the future of the game showcasing their raw talent on the global stage.

Taking place in the Youth Olympic Park in the southern area of the city, the Hockey5s events are set to take centre stage with hosts Argentina expected to attract large numbers of local fans, renowned for their passionate support of the sport.

The last edition of this event in Nanjing, China in 2014 saw this year’s participants Australia win gold and Canada silver in the men’s event, with China winning gold and Argentina taking bronze in the women’s event. 

Australia men won the last YOG in 2014 Photo: IOC/Getty

Fans wanting to attend the Buenos Aires 2018 Youth Olympic Games can now apply for free access to all events via the official website. For more information, click here.

For more information about the Buenos Aires 2018 Youth Olympic Games hockey events, visit the official website.


Youth Olympic Games 2018 Competition Regulations (including competition format): Download here


Latest News

  • Uruguay and Austria hope for dream debut performances
  • SIMBA Chain's Proprietary NFT Marketplace partners with International Hockey Federation
  • Ukraine to miss FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup
  • Athletes ready to rise to the challenge

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here