Home Menu

England announce squad for World Cup

November 13, 2018
Courtesy of England Hockey

Head coach Danny Kerry has selected a squad of eighteen with two travelling reserves in a team which boasts both youth and experience, with players who have competed in multiple World Cups lining up alongside 13 athletes for whom this will be their first.

Zach Wallace (18), Jack Waller (21) and Rhys Smith (21) are the youngest players to be selected having impressed in recent months, while Barry Middleton will compete at his fourth World Cup and Adam Dixon his third.

"The athletes have been working hard and embracing new ideas over the last eight weeks in the build up to World Cup selection and we could not have asked more from the team in terms of attitude and application," Kerry said.

"We realise that many teams will start favourites ahead of us, we also know we are capable of threatening all teams.”
England head coach Danny Kerry

"We understand the challenge our pool represents and will have to be at our very best to progress to the latter rounds of the tournament.

"We realise that many teams will start favourites ahead of us, we also know we are capable of threatening all teams.

"The management team have been brilliant in preparing and supporting the team. We all look forward to the many challenges of a World Cup."

The tournament runs from 28 November to 16 December as the world's best sides compete for one of hockey's greatest prizes, with all games live on BT Sport.

In Pool B alongside England are reigning champions, three-time winners and current world number one Australia. Ireland will also provide very stiff competition alongside China.

England have finished fourth in the last two editions of the tournament - at The Hague in 2014 and at Delhi in 2010 - and will be aiming to go one further this time round and claim their first medal since 1986.

England men's team for the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018:

George Pinner
Harry Gibson
Adam Dixon
Liam Sanford
Mark Gleghorne
Jack Waller
Michael Hoare
Luke Taylor
Harry Martin
David Ames
Ian Sloan
Barry Middleton
Zach Wallace
James Gall
Phil Roper
David Condon
Will Calnan
Sam Ward

For all information regarding the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018, including the full schedule, teams, news and more, click here.


Presenting Sponsor
Host Sponsor
FIH Global Leadership Partner
FIH Official Partners
Official Sponsors
FIH Official Suppliers
Official Supplier
--google ad sense