Electric Ireland Olympic Qualifier Dublin 2012
Dublin, Ireland - March 10 - 18, 2012


Men's London Groups take shape

March 18, 2012
With 11 teams qualified, preliminary round groups nearly set

With the 11th team now qualified to the London Olympic Games following the Road to London Tournament in Dublin, the Olympic picture is becoming clearer for the men’s tournament as the preliminary round groups are known.

With Korea earning the spot in London, 11 teams are now confirmed to play in London. Korea will join the men's national teams of: Australia, Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Spain, Pakistan, New Zealand, Argentina, India, Belgium and the winner of the final Road to London tournament in Japan.

Since Korea is the #6 team in the FIH World Ranking the men’s preliminary round groups are confirmed for the Olympic Games and are as follows:

Group A                                   
Great Britain                           
Winner Japan OQ                     

Group B
New Zealand

The Olympic groups are determined by the qualified teams’ place in the FIH World Ranking. The final team will be determined on May 6th following the Road to London Tournament in Japan. The London Games will begin on July 27th, with the men’s tournament kicking off on July 29th. The closing ceremony is on August 12th.


Latest News

  • EHF webinar: Unveiling the complexities of gender equality
  • MJWC: Clinical Domene fires Argentina to men’s Junior World Cup title
  • Celebrating the team behind the team on International Volunteer Day
  • MJWC: South Africa men claim best ever Junior World Cup finish in Bhubaneswar

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here