FIH Champions Challenge 1 2011
Johannesburg, South Africa - November 26 - 4, 2011


South Africa Hockey announce Players of the Year

November 3, 2011
Tarryn Bright and Taine Paton honoured

The South African Hockey Association has named it achievers for 2011 with the highlight being the announcing of the SA Men’s and Women’s Player of the Year.

The SA Men’s Player of the Year award goes to KZN Coastal Raiders and national team midfielder Taine Paton.

The compact, aggressive and skilful midfielder has demonstrated an astonishing workrate in the engine room of the Raiders and SA teams, contributing to their success in lifting the South African Men’s Interprovincial and Africa Cup hockey titles in 2011. Paton, whose older brother Wade is also in the SA team, is contracted to a Belgian club, which has benefited his game.

The SA Women’s Player of the Year accolade goes to Western Province and Investec South Africa midfielder Tarryn Bright, whose contribution in all respects in the heartbeat of her teams has played no small part in bringing the national interprovincial and Africa Cup trophies to her province and country this year. The quiet, unassuming Bright is contracted to a club in Holland and her experience under pressure adds much to Western Province and on the international stage for SA.

The SA U18 Girls’ Player of the Year award went to Sentraal, Bloemfontein schoolgirl Tanya Britz, the striker whose skill on the ball and ability to poach goals earned her selection for the Free State senior team and the Investec South Africa national team that participated in the Africa Cup. The ever-cheerful Britz joins SA superstar and world record goalscorer Pietie Coetzee as one of a select few who have made their national debuts while still at school.

The SA U18 Boys’ Player of the Year trophy went to schoolboy Grant Glutz, whose record-breaking goalscoring feats at Maritzburg College and outstanding performances in the strike zone for KZN Inland, and the South Africa U18 against the highly rated Australia Schoolboys touring team, has seen the powerful forward tipped by seasoned observers as a senior national player in the making. An exceptionally modest young man, Glutz has a remarkable work ethic.

The SA U21 Women’s Player of the Year award went to North West and Investec South Africa utility player Celia Evans, whose performances at club, provincial and national level have caught the eye, while Free State’s Jaco Fourie won the SA U21 Men’s Player of the Year trophy, an achievement in which his outstanding captaincy and skill in the province's U21 side that took the underdogs all the way to the SA U21 Men's IPT final in Durban, was a major factor in his recognition.




SA Players of the Year

SA Men’s Player of the Year: Taine Paton (John Marquard Trophy)

SA Women’s Player of the Year: Tarryn Bright (Ros Howell Trophy)

SA U18 Girls’ Player of the Year: Tanya Britz (Dave Carr Trophy)

SA U18 Boys’ Player of the Year: Grant Glutz (Peter Vieyra Trophy)

SA 21 Women’s Player of the Year: Celia Evans (Sheila Brown Trophy)

SA U21 Men’s Player of the Year: Jaco Fourie (Lennie Botha Trophy)


Special Achievement Awards

Southern Gauteng and Investec SA striker Pietie Coetzee (world record goalscorer – 225 goals in 227 Test matches)

Western Province-based Marelize de Klerk (first official ever to umpire 200 Test matches)

Media Awards

Photographer of the Year: Deaan Vivier (foto24)

Media (English): Nick Gordon (Citizen)

Media (Afrikaans): Johann de Jager (Volksblad/sport24)


Coach of the Year: Western Province’s Wayne Denne (Steve and Linda Jaspan Trophy)

Malik Umpire of the Year: Western Province-based Marelize de Klerk

Service to Umpiring: Pretoria-based John Wright (Stewart McIldowie Trophy)

Technical Official of the Year: Durban-based Clive McMurray (Paul Richards Trophy)

Hockey Person of the Year: Pietermaritzburg-based Gary Carson (Dave and Helen Metter Award)

President’s Awards for Service to Hockey

Colin Bartle, Lennie Botha, Sheila Brown, Maud Burgess, Wendell Domingo, Janet Edwards, Paul Hendricks, Ian Leach, Dennis Perkins, Trynie Roberts, Mark Rushby, Di Schroder, Noreen Wonnacott, Westy Yon


Source: SA Hockey Media Release



Latest News

  • Hockey hooks into health and well-being in PNG
  • First FIH Hockey Junior World Cup on African soil
  • 2019 FIH Women's Player of the Year: Eva de Goede - Making experience count
  • 2019 FIH Men's Player of the Year: Manpreet makes history

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here

--google ad sense