ESB Electric Ireland FIH Champions Challenge I (Women)
Dublin, Ireland - June 18 - 26, 2011


2011 USA Women's National Team announced

May 31, 2011

COLORADO SPRINGS, C.O. - The USA Women’s National Team Head Coach Lee Bodimeade announced twenty-eight players to the 2011 USA Women’s National Squad this afternoon, concluding the Women’s National Championship in Washington, D.C. The athletes selected have the potential to represent the United States on the world stage over the next year at the Pan American and Olympic Games.

“It was a fantastic tournament that was successfully organized and run,” said Bodimeade. “The level of performance was far more accelerated than expected.”

Over the last week, one hundred and two athletes chased Olympic dreams as they performed amongst the most elite group of field hockey players in the country. To make it to the Women’s National Championship is impressive. To then gain selection to the National Team is exceptional and inspiring. The selected athletes have made it to the highest level and will now carry on the dream of representing their country with distinction.

The 2011 USA Women’s National Team roster features twenty-three returning National Team members, including ten 2008 Beijing Olympic Team members. Completing the twenty-eight player roster, are five 2010 National Development Team athletes, Torrie Albini (Escondido, CA), Michelle Cesan (New Vernon, NJ), Kathleen Sharkey (Moosic, PA), Pam Spuehler (Sudbury, MA) and Brianna Davies (Annville, PA).

“Moving up to the National Team will provide these players will more playing opportunities to take the next step forward and play at the senior level,” said Bodimeade.

Sharkey led the Women’s National Championship with number of goals scored. She has received numerous awards and set team records while at Princeton University. Sharkey will enter her final season with the Tigers this fall.

“Sharkey being the leading goal scorer at the tournament proves that she can play at the senior level,” said Bodimeade.

Sharkey is teammates with Cesan who also attends Princeton University. Cesan was a member of the Under-21 USA Women’s National Team before advancing to the Development Team. Cesan’s performance at the Women’s National Championship earned her one of the highly coveted spots on the National Team roster. She was also selected to the Champions Challenge travel squad.

“The most significant selection of the tournament, was adding Michelle Cesan to the Champions Challenge traveling squad,” said Bodimeade. “Cesan has been on our radar for some time now and we were happy with her performance here and how her game has developed.”

The eighteen athletes selected to attend Champions Challenge in Dublin, Ireland, June 18-26 will have a few days off to recover from the high intensity of the tournament and the pressure of National Team selection. On June 2, training will begin at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, CA.

“It is a short ten day preparation, heading into Champions Challenge, but I am confident that we have selected the team that can help us win this tournament,” said Bodimeade.

Katie O’Donnell (Blue Bell, PA) was awarded the 2010 Women’s National Squad Player of the Year. The award is presented to the player with the most “Player of the Match” performances.

In addition, Bodimeade has selected thirteen athletes to the 2011 USA Women’s National Development Team.

The following athletes have been named to the 2011 USA Women’s National Team:
Torrie Albini (Escondido, CA), Kayla Bashore (Shoemakersville, PA), Melanie Brill (Oley, PA), Michelle Cesan (New Vernon, NJ), Lauren Crandall (Doylestown, PA), Brianna Davies (Annville, PA), Rachel Dawson (Berlin, NJ) Katie Evans (Newtown Square, PA), Katelyn Falgowski (Ladenberg, PA), Maren Ford (Ann Arbor, MI), Jesse Gey (Greenlane, PA), Melissa Gonzalez (Mohegan Lake, NY), Michelle Kasold (Chapel Hill, NC), Jaclyn Kintzer (Chapel Hill, NC), Claire Laubach (San Diego, CA), Carrie Lingo (Bloomington, IN), Caroline Nichols (Virginia Beach, VA), Katie O’Donnell (Blue Bell, PA), Lauren Pfeiffer (Mt. Laurel, NJ), Julia Reinprecht (Perkasie, PA), Katie Reinprecht (Perkasie, PA), Paige Selenski (Shavertown, PA), Kathleen Sharkey (Moosic, PA), Keli Smith, Pam Spuehler (Sudbury, MA), Amy Swensen (Norfolk, VA), Shannon Taylor (La Mesa, CA), Michelle Vittese (Woodbury, NJ)

The following athletes have been named to the 2011 USA Women’s National Development Team:
Meghan Dawson (Berlin, NJ), Stephanie Fee (Virginia Beach, VA), Laura Gebhart (Mount Joy, PA), Laura Greenwald (Carlsbad, CA), Rayell Heistad (Hamburg, PA), Kim Katsuk (Putnam Valley, NY), Kelsey Kolojejchick (Larksville, PA), Marta Malmberg (Marathon, NY), Katelyn Smither (Suffolk, VA), Caitlyn Van Sickle (Wilmington, DE), Alesha Widdall (Whitney Point, NY), Jill Witmer (Lancaster, PA), Emily Wold (Freehold, NJ).

The following athletes have been selected to the traveling squad for Champions Challenge:
Kayla Bashore, Michelle Cesan, Lauren Crandall, Rachel Dawson, Katie Falgowski, Melissa Gonzalez, Michelle Kasold, Jaclyn Kintzer, Claire Laubach, Carrie Lingo, Caroline Nichols, Katie O’Donnell, Julia Reinprecht, Katie Reinprecht, Paige Selenski, Amy Swensen, Shannon Taylor, Michelle Vitesse

Source: USFHA media release


Latest News

  • Hockey community unites against discrimination
  • ‘Karri on’ is McMahon’s motto
  • Masked and keeping their distance but Poland's players are back in the groove
  • 2022/23 FIH Hockey World Cups qualification process reviewed

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here

--google ad sense