Hockey World League Round 1 Portugal 2012
Lousada, Portugal - September 25 - 30, 2012


Scotland Men's squad for World League announced

September 21, 2012
Qualification for Round 2 is the aim, says manager Eugene Connolly
Scotland Head Coach Derek Forsyth has announced his squad of eighteen players ahead of the FIH World League Round 1 competition taking place in Lousada, Portugal from 25-30 September.

The Scots will play in a round robin format including matches against Morocco, Gibraltar, Portugal and Italy. With Forsyth's squad up against lesser ranked opposition in their first three matches, Scotland will be confident of securing qualification before a trickier tie against Italy in the final match.

Looking forward to the competition Scotland Manager Eugene Connolly said, "The aim for the squad is to qualify for the second round of the FIH World League and we've been preparing hard for this climax to our international season. In terms of the world rankings, Italy should be our closest opponents, but any team that hosts a tournament is to be well respected so we expect Portugal to provide a good performance in front of their own supporters.

"Scotland has fond memories of playing in Portugal having competed in the European B Division competition in Lisbon in 2007. We are confident and looking forward to returning to Portugal and I know we will receive the same warm welcome as that afforded to us on out last visit." said Connolly.

For two of the Scottish contingent, the competition will mark significant cap milestones. Iain Scholefield, who will captain the side in Lousada, and his former Glynhill Hotel Kelburne team-mate Gareth Hall should both claim their 100th caps. Glynhill Hotel Kelburne's Alan Forsyth and Surbiton's Chris Grassick should also pick up their 50th caps. East Grinstead's Niall Stott also returns to the side following his involvement with Great Britain.

Scotland Men: Jamie Cachia (Sheffield HC), Allan Dick (Holcolmbe HC), Iain Scholefield (c) (Qui Vive), Michael Bremner, Alan Forsyth, Gareth Hall, Christopher Nelson, William Marshall (all Glynhill Hotel Kelburne), Niall Stott (East Grinstead), Fergus Dunn, Christopher Grassick (both Surbiton HC), Russell Anderson (Brooklands), Daniel Coultas (Durham University), Ian Moodie (Western Wildcats), Kenny Bain (THC Hurley), Wei Adams (Royal Pingouin Nivellois), Gavin Byers, Ross Stott (both Grove Menzieshill)

Source: Scottish Hockey Union media release Back

Latest News

  • World Games Athlete of the Year nominee PR Sreejesh looking forward to 2022 challenges
  • A show full of goodbyes
  • Women's Asia Cup: Where anything can happen
  • Rising RSA star Dayaan Cassiem talks Tokyo 2020, FIH Hockey Pro League and more

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here