Hockey World League Round 1 Port of Spain 2012
Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago - November 11 - 17, 2012


Canada women confirm squad for Hockey World League

October 17, 2012
Roster announced for tournament in Port of Spain
In less than a month, the Canadian women’s national team will compete at the 2012 Hockey World League Round 1 in Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago.  From November 11th to 17th the team will compete against Barbados, Uruguay, Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana and Venezuela.  This is Canada’s first step toward qualification for the 2014 World Cup.

Field Hockey Canada is pleased to announce the eighteen athletes selected to Team Canada.  There has been a lot of change for the Women’s National Program over the past year.  With five recent retirements, this competition will give several new faces the opportunity to step onto the international stage.  The squad will be anchored by veterans Thea Culley, Kate Gillis and Abigail Raye. 

The Women’s National Team Staff has seen several changes as well.  As Head Coach Paul Bundy transitions to his new role as Assistant Coach for the Men’s National Team, Kimo Linders has been appointed as the Interim Head Coach.  Linders has been involved with the National Program since 2003, including his role as Head Coach for the Women’s 2004 Pan American Cup.  The Senior Assistant Coach role has been filled by field hockey legend Rob Short, who has competed for Team Canada since 1993.  

“We want to establish successful and practical game plans,” says Linders.  “We will be focused on building a cohesive team, playing as competitively as we can in every game, in every minute, and enjoying our time on the pitch!”

As a new quadrennial begins, the Women’s National Team is building towards the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio.  The World League provides an excellent opportunity to gain international competition experience.  The top three teams will qualify for Round 2, where they face other victorious countries in our region.  To learn more about the FIH World League, click here.

Team Canada
Thea Culley (Rossland, BC): Marian Dickinson (Calgary, AB): Rachel Donohoe (North Vancouver, BC): Stephanie Gardiner (Vancouver, BC): Kate Gillis (Kingston, ON): Hannah Haughn (North Vancouver, BC): Shanlee Johnston (Vancouver, BC): Caashia Karringten (Vancouver, BC): Angela Lancaster (Burlington, ON): Lauren Logush (Richmond Hill, ON): Sara McManus (Tsawwassen, BC): Jocelyn Mitchell (Kanata, ON): Abigail Raye (Kelowna, BC): Poonam Sandhu (Vancouver, BC): Natalie Sourisseau (Kelowna, BC): Brienne Stairs (Kitchener, ON): Kate Thompson (Vancouver, BC): Kaitlyn Williams (White Rock, BC)

Kimo Linders (Head Coach): Rob Short (Assistant Coach): Valerie Smaller (Team Manager): Noreen Ortilla (Physiotherapist): Stefanie Sloboda (Videographer and analyst).

Source: Field Hockey Canada media release Back

Latest News

  • Rising RSA star Dayaan Cassiem talks Tokyo 2020, FIH Hockey Pro League and more
  • Prospect of World Cup qualification turns up the heat at Pan Am Cup in Chile
  • How will the Rules of Hockey change in 2022?
  • It's more than purely about winning says hockey legend Marsha Cox

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here