2016 Hockey Revolution Awards shortlist announced

October 25, 2016

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has announced the shortlist for all of the Hockey Revolution Awards which will be presented at the Hockey Revolution Part 2 Conference in Dubai.

On Friday 11 November, when the discussions, meetings and activities draw to a close after an inspirational day at the Conference, delegates in Dubai will be drawn to the spectacular No Limits Ball. The Armani Hotel will host this prestigious event which will, for the first time, feature public presentations of the Hockey Revolution Awards (formerly FIH Honorary Awards).

Below is an outline of all the Awards and Trophies that will be presented during what is set to be a truly memorable evening celebrating the achievements of hockey's stars, beneath the stars.

The Pablo Negre Trophy, presented by Musco
The Pablo Negre Trophy is presented to a National Association that has made a significant mark either through innovative programmes and initiatives or by embracing the spirit of hockey through exceptional sportsmanship.

Nominations: Ghana Hockey Association; Hockey Association of Malawi; Pakistan Hockey Federation; Peru Hockey Federation; Sierra Leone Hockey Association; Solomon Islands Hockey Association; Thailand Hockey Association; USA Field Hockey.

Guust Lathouwers Memorial Trophy
This award celebrates an individual who has made an outstanding contribution towards the development of umpires. The nomination for this award comes via the umpiring committee and will be revealed on the night. 

Theo Ykema Award 
The Theo Ykema Award is presented to a National Association who has inspired, developed and enriched hockey in its homeland through projects and initiatives.

Nominations: Bangladesh Hockey Federation; Peru Hockey Federation; Solomon Islands Hockey Association.

Etienne Glichitch Award
Presented to an individual, National Association or Continental Federation who has developed hockey through innovative ideas or the professionalisation of their organisation.

Nominations: German Hockey Federation (Deutscher Hockey-Bund); Norman Hughes; England Hockey.

The Super Fair Play Trophy Rene G Frank
The Super Fair Play Trophy Rene G Frank is awarded to a team or individual who has upheld the spirit of hockey and shown exemplary sportsmanship on and off the field.

Nominations: Argentina men’s hockey team; Guyana men’s and women’s hockey teams; Laura Pigretti, Argentina.

HRH Sultan Azlan Shah Award
The HRH Sultan Azlan Shah Award acknowledges actions and achievements of individuals within both hockey and their professional careers.

Nominations: Fumio Ogura, Japan; Usama Javed, Expatriates Association of Saudi Arabia.

In addition to the above awards, three awards for individuals will be presented at the No Limits Ball. These awards are the Order of Merit, the Diploma of Merit and Honorary Member. Each of these awards recognises and celebrates outstanding commitment and contribution to hockey by an individual. 

For more information about the Hockey Revolution Awards, click here.


Latest News

  • Landmark international matches for Brunei
  • Malawi enters new hockey era
  • FIH Hockey Pro League 2020 edition all set for action
  • The on-going process of coach education

Our website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the FIH website. To find out more about our data policy please click here

--google ad sense